Omicron Delta Kappa

The Omicron Delta Kappa Society, Inc., The National Leadership Honor Society for college students, recognizes and encourages superior scholarship, leadership and exemplary character. Membership in ODK is a mark of highest distinction and honor. 

The Society recognizes achievement in scholarship; athletics; campus or community service, social and religious activities, and campus government; journalism, speech and mass media; and the creative and performing arts. Emphasis is placed on the development of the whole person, both as a member of the college community and as a contributor to a better society.

Omicron Delta Kappa was founded December 3, 1914, at Washington and Lee University, Lexington, Virginia, by 15 student and faculty leaders. The founders formulated the idea that leadership of exceptional quality and versatility in college should be recognized, that representatives in all phases of college life should cooperate in worthwhile endeavors, and that outstanding students, faculty and administrators should meet on a basis of mutual interest, understanding, and helpfulness. O∆K was the first college honor society of a national scope to give recognition and honor for meritorious leadership and service in extracurricular activities and to encourage development of general campus citizenship.

The Virginia Tech Alpha Omicron Circle was founded in 1933. Over its 74 years at Virginia Tech, the circle has initiated only 2,428 members, including every university president since Julian Burruss.

The O∆K "mark of distinction" is well recognized by leaders in both the academic and business worlds.